The HHTSA has made it harder for cars to score five stars over the years requiring greater safety and thus less risk of injury. So seeing a five star score on the frontal and side crash tests is a real achievement. Here’s the full rating from the NHTSA:

Overall Safety Rating: 5 Stars

– Frontal Crash Rating: 5 Stars (Driver: 5, Passenger: 5)
– Side Crash Rating: 5 Stars (Driver: 5, Passenger: 5)
– Side Pole Crash Rating: 5 Stars
– Combined Side Barrier and Pole Rating: (Driver: 5, Passenger: 5)
– Rollover Rating: 4 Stars
– Risk of Rollover: 18.8%

NHTSA – New Car Assessment Program (NCAP), Frontal Test: Crash test dummies representing an average-sized adult male and a small-sized adult female are placed in the driver and front passenger seats, respectively, and are secured with seat belts. Vehicles are crashed into a fixed barrier at 35 mph (56.3km/h), which is equivalent to a head-on collision between two similar vehicles each moving at 35 mph.